Jeswin Aldrin and Ankita Dhyani make 2024 Paris Olympics cut; added to India’s athletics team

With the 2024 Paris Olympics less than 20 days away, two more Indian athletes have made the cut for the quadrennial event, set to take place in the French capital from July 26 till August 11. Long jumper Jeswin Aldrin and 5000m runner Ankita Dhyani on Sunday, July 7, earned qualification for the Summer Games through the world ranking quota. 

The inclusion of long jumper national record holder, Jeswin Aldrin and Ankita Dhyani featured in the latest list published by the World Athletics (WA) after the national federation notified the international body about a few athletes not competing despite making the cut for the Games. 

This comes after long jumper Sreeshankar Murali pulled out of the 2024 Paris Olympics with a knee injury despite making a direct cut by breaching the qualification mark. Aldrin stood at 31st place with a total of 32 athletes competing in the long jump event. Ankita, on the other hand, was placed 42 in the latest rankings. 

A top Athletics Federation of India (AFI) official told PTI, “Yes, they have made it to the list through world ranking and they will be included in the Indian team for the Olympics.”

Indian athletics team for Paris 2024 Olympics

Avinash Sable (men’s 3000m steeplechase)

Neeraj Chopra (men’s javelin throw)

Kishore Jena (men’s javelin throw)

Tajinderpal Singh Toor (men’s shot put)

Praveen Chithravel (men’s triple jump)

Abdulla Aboobacker (men’s triple jump)

Sarvesh Kushare (men’s high jump)

Akshdeep Singh (men’s 20km race walk)

Vikash Singh (men’s 20km race walk)

Paramjeet Singh Bisht (men’s 20km race walk)

Muhammed Anas (men’s 4x400m relay)

Muhammed Ajmal (men’s 4x400m relay)

Amoj Jacob (men’s 4x400m relay)

Santhosh Kumar Tamilarasan (men’s 4x400m relay)

Rajesh Ramesh (men’s 4x400m relay)

Mijo Chacko Kurian (men’s 4x400m relay)

Suraj Panwar (race walk mixed marathon)

Jeswin Aldrin (men’s long jump)

Kiran Pahal (women’s 400m)

Parul Chaudhary (women’s 3000m steeplechase and 5,000m)

Jyothi Yarraji (women’s 100m hurdles)

Annu Rani (women’s javelin throw)

Abha Khatua (women’s shot put)

Jyothika Sri Dandi (women’s 4x400m relay)

Subha Venkatesan (women’s 4x400m relay)

Vithya Ramraj (women’s 4x400m relay)

MR Poovamma (women’s 4x400m relay)

Prachi (women’s 4x400m relay)

Priyanka Goswami (women’s 20km race walk and race walk mixed marathon)

Ankita Dhyani (women’s 5000m)

Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode