What happened in cricket on June 30, 2024? – Check here

Although the T20 World Cup 2024 has culminated with India being crowned the T20 World Champions, the feeling of this moment is still sinking in. After their seven-run win over South Africa in the summit clash, the Indian cricket team received a special call from PM Narendra Modi. Moreover, Ravindra Jadeja joined the likes of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma as the veteran trio announced retirement from T20Is. 

In this article, we will go through all the big news that took place on Sunday, June 30. 

Major cricket events that happened on Sunday, June 30

India Women vs South Africa Women One-Off Test: Day 3

Top-order batter Sune Luus scored a century as South Africa reached 232 for two in their second innings after India enforced follow-on on Day 3 of the one-off women’s Test. India’s off-spinner Sneh Rana had earlier taken eight wickets to bowl South Africa out for 266 in their first innings, trailing India’s 603 for six by 337 runs. South Africa at Stumps on Day 3 trail India by 105 runs.

BCCI announces prize money of INR 125 Crore for Team India

After India’s win over South Africa to lift the T20 World Cup 2024, BCCI Secretary, Jay Shah announced a prize money of INR 125 Crore for the Men in Blue. “I am pleased to announce prize money of INR 125 Crore for Team India for winning the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024,” Jay Shah captioned a post on X.

Ravindra Jadeja announces retirement from T20Is after T20WC victory

Veteran Indian all-rounder, Ravindra Jadeja, on Sunday, June 30 announced retirement from T20 Internationals. His decision came just hours after India’s T20 World Cup 2024 win in Barbados, where they defeated South Africa by seven runs to get their hands on the coveted title. After the announcement, he joined Virat Kohli and captain Rohit Sharma, who also announced their retirement just after winning the trophy.

PM Modi speaks to Team India after T20 World Cup 2024 win

After India’s win in the Caribbean, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who took charge for the third successive time, hailed the efforts of the Indian cricket team. PM Modi extended his congratulations to the Indian cricket team on their victory in the T20 World Cup. In a phone call, he praised the performance of the team, expressing the joy and pride of the 140 crore Indians.

Rohit Sharma wakes up with T20WC trophy beside him; pic surfaces

On Sunday, June 30, Rohit Sharma, the captain of India, shared a candid picture of waking up with the T20 World Cup trophy beside him on his Instagram. The 37-year-old, who led the Indian cricket team to a T20 World Cup 2024 title triumph, has already announced his retirement from the T20I format after the conclusion of the tournament.

England name 14-man squad for first two Tests vs West Indies

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) on Sunday, June 30 announced a 14-member squad for the upcoming West Indies Tests. The Three Lions will host West Indies in a three-match Test series, starting July 10 at the Lord’s Cricket Ground. While the side sees the return of Chris Woakes, veteran pacer James Anderson will bid adieu to international cricket after the conclusion of the first Test against the Windies at the Lord’s.

WATCH: Suryakumar Yadav wins ‘Best Fielder’ medal after India’s win

After Team India lifted the T20 World Champions title on June 29, beating the likes of South Africa by seven runs, it was top-ranked Indian batter Suryakumar Yadav who received the ‘Best Fielder’ medal. The customary medal ceremony took place in the Indian dressing room with Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Secretary Jay Shah presenting the award to Suryakumar Yadav.

WATCH: Robin Uthappa and R Ashwin get emotional after India’s WC glory

On Saturday, billions of Indians’ dreams were fulfilled with India lifting the T20 World Cup 2024. Although pure emotions poured on the field from the two top quality sides, even the former cricketers were seen break down in tears. 2007 T20 World Cup winner Robin Uthappa, along with Ravichandran Ashwin, also were seen in tears as they spoke after India’s T20 World Cup 2024 triumph. 

Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode