Instances when teams remained unbeaten throughout T20 World Cup campaign

On Saturday, June 29, India defeated South Africa by seven runs to win the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados. In front of thousands of fans in attendance at the spiritual home of the West Indies cricket, the Indian cricket team were crowned world champions in the shortest format of the game. 

This was the first-time in T20 World Cup history that a team became champion without getting defeated at any stage in the tournament. In the previous editions of the T20 World Cup, the likes of India, Pakistan, England, West Indies, Sri Lanka, and Australia, had to endure defeats before they gathered momentum in the knockout stage to grab hold of the coveted title.

In the T20 World Cup 2024, the Indian cricket team managed to stay undefeated in nine straight matches this month, which is a record in the tournament’s history. The captain and the team management were exceptional in galvanising the players to deliver consistent performances right throughout the tournament, to fulfil their destiny of winning the trophy.

Overall, the 2024 edition of the T20 World Cup, which was played in the USA and the Caribbean was quite a success for the organisers. The fans were able to watch the best T20 players on show from all over the world, challenging themselves in different playing conditions and producing splendid performances throughout the tournament.

The next edition of the T20 World Cup will be played in 2026, which will be co-hosted by India and Sri Lanka.

Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode