What are power blast overs in Lanka Premier League 2024? – All you need to know

The Lanka Premier League will introduce a new feature to increase the excitement in the death overs of a game. Under this new rule, LPL games will have two additional powerplay overs during the last few overs of an innings. Sri Lanka’s franchise T20 league will kick off on Ju ly 1. 

This rule introduces two “power blast overs”, which will be the 16th and 17th overs of each inning and have a maximum of four fielders outside the 30-yard circle.  This new power play will be in addition to the traditional powerplay that takes place in the first six overs of an inning.

What are power blast overs in Lanka Premier League 2024?

The league hope to bring “a more aggressive and thrilling phase of the game” with the  power blast overs  according to the Lanka Premier League. Further speaking about the  tournament director of the Lanka Premier League 2024, S amantha Dodanwela said,  “We decided to bring this innovation in order to create further excitement for the league, which is growing year by year.”

“This new introduction is sure to generate a lot of excitement among the fans, and the teams will need to strategize effectively to make the most of this period,” he continued.

The 2024 edition of the tournament will include 20 league matches between five franchises. After the league stage, the tournament will have three playoff games and then the final. Each team will play each other twice in the league stage before the top four teams make the playoffs.

Top Stories

Scroll to Top
Switch Dark Mode